Arriving in the rue des Tables, when you find yourself at the foot of the grand staircases of the Cathedral of Notre-Dame du Puy-en-Velay, you can only be struck by the beauty and immensity of the magnificent historic building. As a true queen of Mont Anis, the majestic ponote cathedral almost seems to stretch out its arms to tourists, pilgrims and passing visitors.

Listen carefully, listen to the history of Notre-Dame du Puy-en-Velay Cathedral

Registered at Unesco World Heritage since 1998

La Cathedral of Le Puy-en-Velay, Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1998, ranks 2nd favorite monument of the French in the program presented on France 2 by Stéphane Bern.

The origin of the site dates back to the XNUMXth century with a first church. It really takes on the appearance of a cathedral from the XNUMXth century. Le Puy cathedral is built on Mont Anis and is one of the jewels of the town of Le Puy-en-Velay and the department of Haute-Loire. His cloister is considered one of the finest Romanesque ensembles in Auvergne and Europe.

Byzantine inspiration is remarkable in particular for the arcades decorated with mosaics, ocher, white, red and black diamonds. A third of the building is built on the rock, the other two thirds are in the void, suspended almost 20 m above the ground. The main entrance is in the heart of the cathedral.

The start of the mythical GR65

Up there, you feel like royalty, ready to conquer the world and set off on the main road to Santiago de Compostela in Spain. Early in the morning, many hikers and pilgrims set off to tread the legendary GR65.

The cathedral sees every year thousands of pilgrims coming to pray to the Black Madonna or to hope for a miracle from the mysterious "Stone of Fever". The pilgrim mass is also given there every morning for those making the Way of Santiago de Compostela.

Forum Square Forum Square
43000 Le Puy-en-Velay
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

En arrivant dans la rue des Tables, quand on se retrouve aux pieds des grands escaliers de la Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Puy-en-Velay, on ne peut qu’être saisi par la beauté et l’immensité du magnifique édifice historique. En véritable reine du Mont Anis, la majestueuse cathédrale ponote semble presque tendre les bras aux touristes, pèlerins et visiteurs de passage.

Tendez l’oreille, écoutez l’histoire de la Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Puy-en-Velay

Inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1998

La Cathédrale du Puy-en-Velay, Inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1998 se classe 2e monument préféré des Français dans l’émission présentée sur France 2 par Stéphane Bern.

L’origine du site remonte au Ve siècle avec une première église. Elle prend réellement ses allures de cathédrale à partir du IXe siècle. La cathédrale du Puy est bâtie sur le Mont Anis et c’est l’un des fleurons de la ville du Puy-en-Velay et du département de la Haute-Loire. Son cloître est considéré comme l’un des plus beaux ensembles romans d’Auvergne et d’Europe.

L’inspiration byzantine y est remarquable notamment par les arcades ornées de mosaïques, de losanges ocres, blancs, rouges et noires. Un tiers de l’édifice est bâti sur le rocher, les deux autres tiers sont dans le vide, suspendu à presque 20 m au-dessus du sol. L’entrée principale se fait en plein cœur de la cathédrale.

Le départ du mythique GR65

Là-haut, on se sent comme des rois, prêts à conquérir le monde et à partir sur le grand chemin vers Saint-Jacques de-Compostelle en Espagne. Tôt le matin, randonneurs et pèlerins sont nombreux à prendre le départ pour fouler le mythique GR65.

La cathédrale voit passer chaque année des milliers de pèlerins venant prier la Vierge Noire ou espérer un miracle de la mystérieuse « Pierre des Fièvres ». La messe des pèlerins y est également donnée tous les matins pour ceux réalisant le Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.

Cathedrale Notre-Dame

Place du For
Place du For
43000 Le Puy-en-Velay
Calculer mon itinéraire

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu