How about a romantic weekend in the beautiful city of Puy-en-Velay? Between strolls, visits, restaurant and charming hotel in the city ponote, embark with us to the four corners of a city of which we will reveal some secrets to you...

First must-see, the Rocher Saint-Michel d'Aiguilhe and its Romanesque chapel

The Rocher Saint-Michel d'Aiguilhe and its Romanesque chapel are perched 82 m at the top of this incredible volcanic neck. That is 268 steps to climb with the strength of the calves! But the game is worth the candle. From up there, we have a amazing 360 view° on the Ponote city and even beyond!

But before going up to the top, a pose is essential in the garden of the Father Roger Martin, built on the site of the former Saint-Gabriel chapel. A haven of peace and contemplation for pilgrims before their ascent to the rock.

At the very top, as if delicately placed at its summit, stands the magnificent and surprising Saint-Michel chapel. A Romanesque monument whose oldest parts date from the 1840th century. Le Rocher and its chapel, both registered on the first list of Historic Monuments (XNUMX) were elected 4th “Favorite monument of the French” in 2014 and in 2022.

And those who cannot climb to the top to visit the astonishing medieval building can be reassured... virtual visit at the foot of the Rocher Saint-Michel, will allow you to closely observe the magnificent chapel and its exceptional murals.

Farm. Opens tomorrow at 09:00 p.m.
Calculate my route

This is another must-see in Puy-en-Velay, the Notre Dame de France statue which has watched over the town since 1860.

It was built from 213 guns taken from the Russians during the Crimean War.

This monumental statue represents the Virgin Mary crowned with stars, standing on a half terrestrial globe where she crushes a snake with her foot, and holding on her right arm the Child Jesus who blesses the city and France.

22 m high, you can even go inside and admire Le Puy-en-Velay from above, from its crown. Its total mass is estimated at 835 tons, including 680 for the pedestal, 110 for the statue. Its realization is a real technical feat!

Farm. Opens tomorrow at 09:00 p.m.
10 Cloister Street
43000 Le Puy-en-Velay
Calculate my route

A well-deserved gourmet break at midday

It's sporty to visit Le Puy-en-Velay! How about regaining strength? A break is needed! And there is no shortage of restaurants… What will you choose? A restaurant in the heart of the city, on the Place du Plot and its colorful facades? At the foot of the cathedral, with a view of the historic center and its cobbled streets? Or in the lower town, in the city atmosphere of Puy-en-Velay?

Terre de Géants, a breathtaking and digital adventure in the historic district of Puy-en-Velay

Then the visit continues, this time with a show as modern as it is breathtaking in the heart of the old town of Le Puy, not far from the cathedral: Terre de Géants, in the Chapelle Saint-Alexis. An adventure this time digital, interactive and in 4 dimensions to discover the secrets of the Haute-Loire.

Immerse yourself in the lights of Le Puy after a candlelit dinner

In season, tables and scents invest the historic heart of the city of Puy-en-Velay. Like a movie set where we would be able to taste local products expertly prepared by the Chefs. Then, we stroll lovingly in the middle of this lively scenography with the shows of the "Puy de Lumières", in apotheosis, every summer.

A unique bed and breakfast with a view over the rooftops of Le Puy-en-Velay

After all these emotions, a night's sleep is in order… We have an appointment in a unique bed and breakfast: Les Cimes du Puy-en-Velay. An establishment which, with its perched terrace, definitely lives up to its name.

Immerse yourself in the history of this former XNUMXth century mansion, the mother house of the congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Cross in the XNUMXth century.

Was this content useful to you?

Que diriez-vous d’un week-end romantique dans la belle ville du Puy-en-Velay ? Entre flâneries, visites, restaurant et hôtel de charme dans la cité ponote, embarquez avec nous aux quatre coins d’une ville dont nous allons vous révéler quelques secrets …

Premier incontournable, le Rocher Saint-Michel d’Aiguilhe et sa chapelle romane

Le Rocher Saint-Michel d’Aiguilhe et sa chapelle romane sont perchées à 82 m au sommet de cet incroyable neck volcanique. Soit 268 marches à gravir à la force des mollets ! Mais le jeu en vaut la chandelle. De là-haut, on a une vue imprenable à 360° sur la cité ponote et même au-delà !

Mais avant de monter tout en haut, une pose s’impose au jardin du Père Roger Martin, aménagé à l’emplacement de l’ancienne chapelle Saint-Gabriel. Un havre de paix et de recueillement pour les pèlerins avant leur ascension au rocher.

Tout en haut, comme délicatement posée à son sommet se dresse la magnifique et surprenante chapelle Saint-Michel. Un monument roman dont les parties les plus anciennes datent du Xe siècle. Le Rocher et sa chapelle, tous deux inscrits sur la première liste des Monuments Historiques (1840) ont été élus 4e « Monument préféré des Français » en 2014 et en 2022 .

Et que ceux qui ne peuvent pas monter jusqu’en haut pour visiter l’étonnant édifice médiéval se rassurent… Une visite virtuelle au pied du Rocher Saint-Michel, vous permettra d’observer de près la magnifique chapelle et ses exceptionnelles peintures murales.

Fermé. Ouvre à 11h00

Rocher et Chapelle Saint-Michel d'Aiguilhe

Rue du Rocher
43000 Aiguilhe
Calculer mon itinéraire

C’est un autre incontournable du Puy-en-Velay, la statue Notre Dame de France qui veille sur la ville depuis 1860.

Elle a été construite à partir de 213 canons pris aux russes durant la guerre de Crimée.

Cette statue monumentale représente la Vierge Marie couronnée d’étoiles, se tenant debout sur un demi globe terrestre où elle écrase du pied un serpent, et tenant sur son bras droit l’Enfant Jésus qui bénit la ville et la France.

Haute de 22 m, on peut même entrer à l’intérieur et admirer Le Puy-en-Velay d’en haut, depuis sa couronne. Sa masse totale est estimée à 835 tonnes, dont 680 pour le piédestal, 110 pour la statue. Sa réalisation est une vraie prouesse technique !

Fermé. Ouvre à 10h00

Statue Notre-Dame de France

10 rue du Cloître
43000 Le Puy-en-Velay
Calculer mon itinéraire

Une pause gourmande bien méritée à la mi-journée

C’est sportif de visiter Le Puy-en-Velay ! Que diriez-vous de reprendre des forces ? Une pause s’impose ! Et les restaurants ne manquent pas… Que choisirez-vous ? Un restaurant en plein cœur de la cité, sur la place du Plot et ses façades colorées ? Au pied de la cathédrale, avec vue sur le centre historique et ses ruelles pavées ? Ou en ville basse, dans l’ambiance citadine du Puy-en-Velay ?

Terre de Géants, une aventure décoiffante et numérique dans le quartier historique du Puy-en-Velay

Puis la visite continue, avec cette fois un spectacle aussi moderne que décoiffant en pleine vieille ville du Puy, non loin de la cathédrale : Terre de Géants, dans la Chapelle Saint-Alexis. Une aventure cette fois numérique, interactive et en 4 dimensions à la découverte des secrets de la Haute-Loire .

S’immerger dans les lumières du Puy après un dîner aux chandelles

En saison, tables et senteurs investissent le cœur historique de la ville du Puy-en-Velay. Comme un décor de cinéma où il nous serait donné de déguster des produits locaux savamment travaillés par les Chefs. Puis, on déambule amoureusement au milieu de cette scénographie vivante avec les spectacles du « Puy de Lumières », en apothéose, tous les étés.

Une chambre d’hote unique avec vue sur les toits du Puy-en-Velay

Après toutes ces émotions, une nuit de sommeil s’impose… Nous avons rendez-vous dans une chambre d’hôtes unique : Les Cimes du Puy-en-Velay. Un établissement qui, avec sa terrasse perchée, porte décidément bien son nom.

Imprégnez-vous de l’histoire de cet ancien hôtel particulier du XVe siècle, maison mère de la congrégation des Soeurs de la Sainte-Croix au XIXe siècle.

Thématiques

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu